User Data Encryption (UDE) encrypts the device storage components used to store user data, settings, and licenses.
This is a common criteria requirement.
For devices manufactured with pre-Firmware 23 versions, the Out of Service Erase is the only method to opt-in to Internal storage encryption.
Once the out of service erase process is complete, the following will be expected:
- All settings will be reset to factory defaults and/or erased.
- All settings for built-in applications will reset to factory defaults and/or erased.
- Non-built-in applications will be uninstalled.
- Non-factory licenses will be uninstalled.
- Once enabled, UDE cannot be disabled.